2017 CAF Player of the Year: What chance for Cameroon’s Vincent Aboubakar?

The year 2017 appear to be a turning point in the career of Vincent Aboubakar.

In all, he has been called to camp over sixty times since his international debut in May 2010.

The 25-year-old FC Porto striker has already netted 17 goals in his fifteen League appearances for this season and prides himself as one of Africa’s leading players.

Vincent Aboubakar is one of the ten players nominated for the 2017 CAF player of the year.He was shortlisted from the original thirty names.

Vincent Aboubakar can’t stop scoring for Porto and is understandably on the radar of both Everton and Swansea City

According to reports, Everton proposes to pay £28 million, more than what they paid for Romelu Lukaku from Chelsea.

Aboubakar is presently in top form haven registered 17 goals in all competitions, including a hat-trick in the 5-0 away win at Tondela on the weekend of Sunday 10th December 2017.


Many coaches see Aboubakar as a physical and aggressive frontman who takes full atvantage of scoring chances.

On 18 August 2009, Aboubakar was called to join the Cameroon national under-20 football team for the Francophone Games in Beirut.

In May 2010, aged 18, he was named to the Cameroon 23-man squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

In the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, Aboubakar scored an 88th-minute goal in the final.

Cameroon got a 2–1 victory against Egypt to end Cameroon’s 15-year wait for the continental tittle.

Vincent Aboubakar was also part of the Cameroonian squad at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia. There he scored a consolation goal
in their 3–1 to Germany in Sochi.

Another contender is 25-year-old Liverpool attacker, (12 goals in 15 Premier League appearances) Egyptian born Mohamed Salah.

Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is also on the starting blog. He is the only one-time winner among the nominees since 2016.

Also shortlisted are;

Senegal/Liverpool forward Sadio Mane
Guinea /RB Leipzig central midfielder Naby Keita
Nigeria /Chelsea forward Victor Moses and Uganda’s goalkeeper Denis Onyango.

The others include;
Burkina Faso/ Lyon’s Bertrand Traore
Morocco /Feyenoord’s Karim El Ahmadi
Algeria /Porto’s Yacine Brahimi, Senegal’s Keita Blade who also plays for Monaco.

The dice has been cast and the 2017 winner will be known at the CAF awards gala to be organised on Thursday 5th January 2018 in Abuja-Nigeria.

Benly Anchunda

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.