Senate: Eight new faces amongst 30 appointed senators

The Head of State has renewed his confidence on 22 senators appointed five years ago thereby bringing in eight new senators.

In appointing 30 Cameroonians to the upper house of parliament 26% of senate positions were given to women.  A number Traditional leader were also appointed to parliamentary institution. The mandates of incumbent senators of the Littoral, South and West regions were simply renewed.

New comers

The President of the Republic appointed a new senator in six other regions. In the North West two new senators were named to the Senate for first time in 2018; Elisabeth Régina Mundi and Fon Chafa Isaac.

Former alternate senators including Hilarion Diwala Moni in the East and Ngabaya Tchef Tchef in the Far North have been made Senators. Amongst the new comers is also the academic and journalist, Albert Mbida.


The mandates of Former ministers Baba Hamadou, Pius Ondoua, Joseph Roland Matta have not been renewed. Some senators who had been appointed to other institutions in the likes of Peter Mafany Musonge and Jean Baptiste Baskouda, other former members of the government, been replaced.

Senators appointed outside the CPDM

In a bid to consolidate political pluralism of the Senate, five non CPDM followers have also been appointed. Economic operator Boubakari Ousmanou of National Salvation Front of Cameroon, FSNC political party in the North has been appointed.

Leke Besongoh Akumfor, regional coordinator of the UPC in the South West also joins the upper house of parliament. The former Member of Parliament, Djafarou Mohamadou who led the NUDP list for the senatorial in the Adamawa was also appointed. The mandate of Dakole Daissala, president of the MDR was renewed. It is also the case with Marlyse Aboui, senator of the ANDP of the East.

Traditional leaders in good position

The custodians of the traditions and cultures of the land were also given pride of place at the upper house. The Lamido of Rey Bouba, Banyo, Meigamga, the sultan of Bamouns and that of Logone Birni as well as the two influential Fons in the North West are also in the list of appointed senators.

Chief Bandjoun, and the Bakoko chief of Douala as well as two traditional rulers from the South West Fon Victor Mukete and Chief Anja Simon Onjwo also return to the Upper House of Parliament.

Réné Ze Nguélé of Haut Nyong and Jean Marie Pongmoni of Haute Sanaga are also traditional chiefs.

Gender dimension

Four women were amongst the 30 appointed senators. Elisabeth Régina Mundi, the newcomer is a woman of experience and member of the political bureau of the CPDM. Marlyse Aboui, Paulette Bisseck and Pierrette Hayatou were renewed. The four women add to the 22 elected on 25th March 2018, to make a total of 26 women senators out of 100.

The Senate are expected to official take up function during the plenary session by right which will most probably hold on Tuesday, 24th April 2018.

Elvis Teke


Elvis Teke

Journalist, Online Reporter, News Presenter, Programme Anchor, Peace Advocate, Geo-strategist,

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.