2019 AFCON: Draw to hold on April 2019 in Cairo, Egypt

The Confederation of African Football, CAF has announced the official draw of the 2019 AFCON to be organized in Cairo, Egypt on Friday 12th April 2019.

The release from the African watchdog was published this Tuesday 25th February 2019.

The new 24-format African Football tournament seem to be the straw that break the back of Cameroon’s bid of the 2019 fiesta.

Africa’s soccer confederation (CAF) voted overwhelmingly in favour of Egypt over South Africa as new host over Cameroon.

As at now, 14 teams who have already qualified for the big soccer jamboree in Egypt.

Mauritania and Madagascar are both making their debuts at the tournament after they guaranteed qualification with one round of games to spare.

2019 AFCON: Teams that have already qualified

Egypt: Top winner till now with seven titles. The present host, Mohammed Salah’s Egypt will play their 23rd championship.

Morocco: Thanks to its superstar Hakim Ziyech, Morocco secured its ticket after beating Cameroon (2-0) in Casablanca.

Nigeria: Winner of three times (1980, 1994, 2013), Nigeria will play their 18th African Cup of Nations after the draw with South Africa (1-1) on November 18.

Senegal: After a victory against Sudan 0-1 in October 2018, Sadio Mane’s Senegal got its fifteenth ticket for the competition.

Mauritania: For the first time in history, Mauritania will be playing the 2019 African Cup of Nations. This historical qualification came after beating Botswana 2-1.

Madagascar: A historical qualification for Madagascar for the first time in history. The Malagasy team thrashed Equatorial 1-0.

Tunisia: Winner in 2004 against Morocco, Carthage Eagles will play their 19th African competition after defeating Niger by two goals to one.

Mali: Finalist in 1972 against Congo, this is 11th participation in the African Cup of Nations for Malian Eagles.

Uganda: Finalist in 1978 against Ghana, Uganda will play it’s the 7th CAF African Cup of Nations this 2019.

Guinea: Thanks to the draw between Rwanda and Central African Republic (2-2), Guinea qualified for the championship before the match against Cote d’Ivoire (1-1).

Algeria: Algerians earned their ticket for the competition by winning Togo 4-1.

Cote d’Ivoire: the Elephants qualified for the 23rd time after a draw in Guinea (1-1).

Cameroon and South Africa are amongst the list of fourteen but the two will have to get the right results in the March international break before they can start dreaming of Egypt 2019.

Previous winners:

7 titles – Egypt

5 titles – Cameroon, Ghana

3 titles – Nigeria

2 titles – Congo

1 title – Zambia, Algeria, Congo Brazzaville, Ethiopia, Ivory Coast, Morocco, South Africa, Sudan, Tunisia

Benly Anchunda


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.