2019 AFCON : The twenty-four teams on the starting bloc

The twenty-four teams qualified to participate in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt are known

Some of the 24 qualified during the last round of AFCON matches .

Two countries from each of the twelve groups at the qualification stage crossed the line making a total of 24.
In all, thirteen of the twenty-four countries were present at the last edition of the competition that took place in Gabon in 2017.

The teams are; Cameroon,  Egypt, Guinea Bissau, Senegal, Tunisia, Algeria, Zimbabwe, DRC, Morocco, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Mali and Uganda.
In the meantime, Nigeria, Angola, Equatorial Guinea, South Africa, Kenya, Tanzania and Benin are making their comeback.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria last participated at the 2013 AFCON in South Africa and got the cup.
Angola comes back after the 2013 continental tournament and  Tanzania returns since 1980.

Kenya comes back after fifteen years ( 2004 in Tunisia.)
South Africa and Guinea Bissau’s last participation was in 2015.

Namibia absent since Ghana 2008 has been out of the competition foreleven years.

Benin returns to the turf after her appearance in Angola 2010.

Madagascar, Burundi and Mauritania are debutants of AFCON competition.

The twenty-four participanting countries are:

1. Egypt (host)
2. Côte d’Ivoire
3. Nigeria
4. Ghana
5. Algeria
6. Senegal
7. Morocco
8. Kenya
9. Guinea
10. Angola
11. Uganda
12. Mali
13. Madagascar
14. Mauritania
15. Burundi
16. Tunisia
17. Cameroon
18. Namibia
19. Guinea Bissau
20. Zimbabwe
21. RD Congo
22. Benin Republic
23. Tanzania
24. South Africa

The 2019 AFCON draw takes place on 12th April 2019 in Egypt.

Benly Anchunda

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.