Local Development: FEICOM launches third edition of award for best Councils’ practices 


The National Council Support Fund for Mutual Assistance FEICOM has launched  the third  edition of the Award for Councils’ Local Development Best Practices. 

The event launched this 29th March in Yaounde was chaired by the Minister of of Decentralization and Local Development, George Elanga Obam. 

Participating councils are required to make submissions in five domains of focus which are;.

#Local economic development

# Management of resources

# Management of facilities and infrastructures

# Local governance

# Sustainable Development.

According to the programme, councils have between 29th March -29th May 2019 to make submissions. 

An international jury has programmed the entire process in four stages ;

# Receipt of submissions

# Submissions and Document review

# Field evaluation

# Final selection.


A cash prize of CFA 50,000,000 will be awarded to the  overall winner of  councils’ local development Best practices on 23rd August 2019.

Aside the National Award, thirteen councils with best practices shall receive cash prizes totaling CFA 100,000,000 .

The last edition of the  contest was organised in 2016.

The prize was won by The Union of Councils of Mbam and Inoubou Division for its  inter-council governance of “public water supply and basic sanitation in rural areas” innitiative.

The FEICOM National Award was first organised in 2010 with technical support from the United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN- Habitat. 


Kathy Neba Sina

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.