Fighting Boko Haram : Day of National Mourning decreed

The President of the Republic, Paul Biya has decreed a Day of National Mourning for Friday, 21st June 2019 in honour of 17 soldiers killed in Darack in the Far North region. The soldiers were victims of a terrorist attack in their advanced post on night of 9 -10 June 2019.

The decree signed this Monday, 17th June 2019 also attributes the Medal of Army Order of Veillance, posthumously to all 17 soldiers.

The fallen soldiers include:

  • Maitre Principal Major Baleng David Bertin
  • Maitre Principal Ajang Fidelis Aduck
  • Maitre Principal Bawe Maurice Nfoa Maitre Kagana Benjamin
  • Maitre Kiambeh Felix Biambeh
  • Second Maitre Mamoudou Gambo
  • Quartier Maitre de 2eme Class Djondo James
  • Quartier Maitre de 2eme Class Mawouli Jean
  • Matelot de 1eme Class Eloundou Arnaud Claude
  • Quartier Maitre de 1eme Class Ngwafor Mohamed
  • Quartier Maitre de 2eme Class Ambeh Abraham Foruwa
  • Quartier Maitre de 2eme Class Kwamo Jefferson Clinthon
  • Quartier Maitre de 2eme Class Maton Ngaman Parfait
  • Quartier Maitre de 2eme Class Minlend Nyobe Minsoko Giresse Armand
  • Quartier Maitre de 2eme Class Ndive Lawrence James
  • Quartier Maitre de 2eme Class Ngolle Solomon.

In line with the day, Cameroon’s national flag will fly at half mast with the national territory and at Cameroon’s diplomatic missions abroad.

The Day of National Mourning is however not a public holiday.

Elvis Teke

Elvis Teke

Journalist, Online Reporter, News Presenter, Programme Anchor, Peace Advocate, Geo-strategist,

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.