2019 AFCON : Sixteen teams continue the run, eight crash out

Sixteen teams have advanced to the 16th final at the ongoing 2019 AFCON tournament in Egypt.


Twenty-four teams made it to Egypt but after 12 days of action, eight crashed out of the competition leaving sixteen others to continue with the dream of becoming champions.

The two top teams from each group automatically qualified for the first knockout stage making a total of twelve.

Four others migrated to the knockout stage after gaining the status of the third best teams across the groups.

How the teams qualify?

GROUP A: Egypt (1st) – Uganda (2nd) – DR Congo (Best third)
GROUP B: Madagascar (1st) – Nigeria (2nd) – Guinea (Best third)
GROUP C: Algeria (1st) – Senegal (2nd)
GROUP D: Morocco (1st) – Ivory Coast (2nd) – South Africa (Best third)
GROUP E: Mali (1st) – Tunisia (2nd)
GROUP F: Ghana (1st) – Cameroon (2nd) – Benin (Best third)

Eight teams that crashed out;

– Namibia
– Tanzania
– Zimbabwe

Action for the knockout stage resumes on Friday  5th July 2019 when the first two games of the round of 16 will be played.

Two games will be played on the 6th, 7th and 8th to determine the eight quarter finalists.

The 16th final parings and details.

 July 5: Uganda vs. Senegal in Cairo
July 5: Morocco vs. Benin in Cairo
July 6: Egypt vs. South Africa in Cairo
July 6: Nigeria vs. Cameroon in Alexandria
July 7: Madagascar vs. DR Congo in Alexandria
July 7: Algeria vs. Guinea in Cairo
July 8: Mali vs. Ivory Coast in Suez

July 8: Ghana vs. Tunisia in Ismailia

Benly Anchunda, Alexandria – Egypt

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.