2020 CHAN: Host, Cameroon To Face Zimbabwe, Mali And Burkina Faso

The host of the 2020 African Nations Championship, CHAN has been paired in Group A with Zimbabwe, Mali and Burkina Faso.


The draw ceremony was organised Monday, February 17, 2020 at the Yaounde Multipurpose Sports Complex in the presence of Cameroon’s Prime Minister,CAF’s president, participating delegations, members of the Local Organising Committee, football legends and a full arena of Cameroonians.



Stakes In Group A
The intermediate lions of Cameroon go into the competition for the 4th time this year. So far, their best performances were in 2011 and 2016, when the boys of Yves Clement Arroga reached the quarter-finals respectively.

The host, Cameroon will play the opener on April 4th, 2020 in Yaoundé with the Warriors of Zimbabwe, a team classified as one of the most prestigious in the continent.

The South African country counts five participation at the CHAN, one of the highest participations in the championship.

Zimbabwe finished 4th in 2014 and 2016.

Mali is in their 4th outing in the competition. The West African country was runners-up in 2016 after falling to the DR Congo at the finals in Kigali, Rwanda.

The fourth and the last group member to face Cameroon will be another West African team, Burkina Faso.

The team eliminated the home based Black Stars of Ghana during the qualifiers to book their ticket to Yaounde, Cameroon.

Accordingly, Cameroon will face-off Zimbabwe in the first group games and Mali will throw weights with Burkina Faso in a West African derby.

Cameroon will face Zimbabwe on April 4 in Yaounde in the competitions opener while Mali clash with Burkina Faso in match number 2.

Group B
North African side, Libya will battle it out Congo Brazzaville, DR Congo and Niger.

Football pundits think the pair makes a group of death as the DR Congo prides itself as a two-time champion after winning in 2009 and 2016.

Congo DR will throw weights with Congo Brazzaville while Niger will pick on Libya in their first group clashes.

Group B will field in their matches in Douala at the Japoma Stadium.

Group C
Morocco, Rwanda, Uganda and Togo will be hosted in Douala at the Bepanda Stadium.

2016 host, Rwanda counts four participation and will battle with the 2018 host and defending champions, Morocco.

Heavyweight, Uganda will face-off debutants, Togo.

Group D
This group plays host to Zambia, Guinea, Namibia and Tanzania. The matches to be played in Limbe will see Tanzania pick on Guinea while Namibia plays Tanzania in a highly solicited East African derby.

Benly Anchunda

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.