Presidential elections: Nine candidates in the race

The Cameroonian electorate now have a clear idea of the candidates who will be vying for the 7th October 2018 presidential election.

The chairman of the Electoral Board of Elections Cameroon (ELECAM), Enow Abrams Egbe unveiled the list of nine candidates retained for the election.

According to the chairman of the electoral board,  28 candidates deposited application files at different ELECAM branch offices to run for the October 7 Presidential election but only nine qualified to run.

The nine candidates for 7th October election;

Paul Biya – CPDM

Garga Haman Adji – ADD

Libii Li Ngue Cabral – UNIVERS

Maurice Kamto – CRM

Matomba Serge Espoir – UPSR

Muna Akere Tabeng – FPD

Ndam Njoya Adamou – CDU

Ndifor Afanwi Franline – CNCM

Osih Joshua Nambangui – SDF

One of the candidates sent an official letter withdrawing his candidature while, the 27 other files were scrutinised.

Amongst the files examined by the board, 18 did not meet the requirements set by the electoral law.

The list was made public during a press conference at the end of the 3rd session as of right of the Electoral Board of Elections Cameroon (ELECAM), that took place at Yaoundé  the Multi Purpose Sports Complex.

Many representatives and candidates of political parties that submitted candidacy files in view of the October 7 presidential election, showed up at the ELECAM press conference to witness the proclamation of the names of candidates retained.

Elvis Teke

Elvis Teke

Journalist, Online Reporter, News Presenter, Programme Anchor, Peace Advocate, Geo-strategist,

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.