2018 Presidential Election: The electorate votes a new president

The electorate nationwide and abroad went to the polls to vote a new president this 7th October 2018. Voting began at 8 am and wrapped up at 6pm local time.

One of the eight candidates running for the presidential election will be voted president for a seven-year-term. Statistics from ELECAM puts the figures of the electorate at over 6.5 million expected to vote in 24,988 polling stations nationwide.

Among the electors is the incumbent Paul Biya and the First Lady, Chantal Biya. The presidential couple cast their votes at midday at the Government Bilingual Primary School, Bastos. After voting, President Biya expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the electoral process.

Candidates for the Presidential Election

1) Paul Biya- CPDM
2) SDF – Joshua Osih
3) Maurice Kamto- CRM
4) Serge Espoir Matomba – UPSR
5) Libi’i Li Ngue Cabral – Univers
6)Garga Haman Adji -ADD
7) Adamu Ndam Njoya -CDU
8) Ndifor Afanwi Franklin – MCNC

Previously a candidate, Akere Muna of the PFD pulled out of the race , and opted for a coalition with Maurice Kamto one day to the election.

The hitch-free exercise is being monitored by national and international elections monitoring bodies.

The constitutional council is expected to proclaim the results within not more fifteen days from the close of the polls as stipulated by the electoral code.

Kathy Neba Sina

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.