2019 AFCON: Coach publishes a 23-man squad without goal-hunter, Vincent Aboubakar

The 2017 AFCON winner,  Vincent Aboubakar will not be part of the Indomitable Lions in Egypt. The FC Porto forward was sieved out from the 37 players initially called up by Head Coach, Clarence Seedorf.

The 27-year-old, the one who almost singlehandedly scored the celebrated winning goal against Egypt to give Cameroon their fifth continental title has not been in top form lately.

Vincent Aboubakar is one of the big names but not the only player ousted.

Moumi Ngamaleu, Jeandot Fuchs, Pierre Akono, Steve Régis Mvoue, Simon Omossola were also excluded from the team of the 2019 AFCON expedition.

Jeandot Fuchs and striker Jean Pierre Nsame are being healed for an injury reason why they will not go to Egypt.

Ten of the 23 players on the final list, were present at the 2017 AFCON bonanza in Gabon amongst them Fabrice Ondoa, defenders Oyongo Bitolo and Fai Collins, and midfielder Arnaud Djoum

Eleven others are new comers of the African Cup of Nations ( Frank Zambo Anguissa of Fulham,
Kunde Malong of Mainz in Germany, Joel Tagueu who plays with Maritimo in Portugal and Olivier Boumal of Panionos in Greece.)

FC Ajax goalkeepper , Andre Onana equally makes the list most probably as a preferred number 1 ahead of AFCON 2017 goal keeper of the tournament.

Carlos Kameni is the oldest in the squad and also a player with the highest  number of participation.

AFCON 2019 : The twenty-three of Seedorf’s list

Goalkeepers: Andre Onana (Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands), Fabrice Ondoa (Oostende, Belgium),Carlos Kameni (Fenerbahce, Turkey)

Defenders: Collins Fai (Standard Liege, Belgium), Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo (Montpellier, France), Yaya Banana (Panionios, Greece), Gaetan Bong (Brighton, England), Jean Armel Kana-Biyik (Kayserispor, Turkey), Dawa Tchakonte (Mariupol, Ukraine)

Midfielders: Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Fulham, England), Georges Mandjeck (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Pierre Kunde Malong (Mainz, Germany), Arnaud Djoum (Hearts, Scotland), Wilfrid Kaptoum (Betis Sevilla, Spain)

Forwards: Stephane Bahoken (Angers, France), Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting (PSG, France), Karl Toko Ekambi (Villareal, Spain), Jacques Zoua (Astra, Romania), Clinton Njie (Marseille, France), Christian Bassogog (Henan, China), Joel Tagueu (Maritimo, Portugal), Olivier Boumal (Panionos, Greece)

Clarence Seerdorf’s boys are in Doha for training. They will face-off Mali in a third friendly before returning to Cameroon on 17th June 2019.

Cameroon the defending champions of the AFCON and five time title holders will start the 2019 run in Egypt with Guinea- Bissau on 25th June 2019.

Benly Anchunda


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.