Mount Cameroon Race Of Hope 2023: Preparations Are At 90% ?

The 28th edition of the Mount Cameroon Race of Hope will take place on February 24 & 25, 2023 in Buea. The 2023 edition is coupled with the 50th anniversary of the mountain race. It has been on theme “let’s give peace a chance”.

Everything is set for the smooth unfolding of the competition, the President of the Athletics Federation said.
Emmanuel MOTOMBY MBOME speaking to CRTVWeb said preparations are at 90% and this year’s event will be different from that of previous years.

14 Countries To Challenge the Mountain

So far, 13 foreign Countries have announced their intention to sent athletes to Cameroon for the race.

The athletes who will take on the 38km footrace to challenge the chariots of God are expected from Kenya, Nigeria, Central African Republic, Chad, France, Uganda, Congo, Gabon, Ethiopia, Tanzania, United States of America, Tunisia and Morocco.

Golden Jubilee Race

The race to the summit of mount Cameroon began in 1973. Fifty years after the 1st edition a special innovations have been added to make the celebration unique.

The Head of State will be represented in Buea by the Minister of Sports and Physical Education to give the Kickoff and hand over trophies to winners.

Former champions of the race like Amos Ndoumbe, Essoka Reginald and others have been invited to mark the 50th anniversary of the ascension of the highest point in Central Africa.


In order to make this years edition unique, the organizing committee of the competition has made some changes to the routine.

– The number of athletes has increased from 500 to 600

-Miss Mountain Race of Hope pageant has been introduced

A sports walk with about 1000 volunteers to promote peace will take place from Mbongo square to the Molyko stadium immediately after the athletes take off for the mountain.

Recap of 2022 Edition

In 2022 athletes from the North West Region maintained the brilliance the region has always had in the event by grabbing the first prizes in the senior men’s and female categories.

In the men’s category Elvis Nsabinla arrived first in 4 hours 32 minutes, followed by Godlove Gabsibuin; a 6 time winner and Adamu Issa Buba in the third position.

Tatah Carine led in the women’s category in 5 hours 20 minutes with Kintang Mildred following in the second position and Tumi Macrina third. Tata Carine has won the race 4 times, three of which was consecutively in 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2022. Kintang Mildred won in 2021.

Each winner in the both male and female categories bagged a cash prize of 8.9 million FCFA, meanwhile those placed second and third had 7 million and 5 million FCFA consequently.

Natacha Lehman

Elvis Teke

Journalist, Online Reporter, News Presenter, Programme Anchor, Peace Advocate, Geo-strategist,

elvisteke has 1844 posts and counting.See all posts by elvisteke

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.